Dr Joe Williams ticking all the boxes

Dr Joe Williams - Debbie Sorensen - Pete Cann

There’s a lot pointing to Dr Joe Williams this year. He has been recently honoured in Vanuatu as the first Pasifika Medical Association patron, his treatment plans for eczema was all over mainstream media and now the recipient of the Pacific Health and Wellbeing Award. The awards were part of the inaugural SunPix Pacific Peoples’ Award presented recently at the Manukau Institute of Technology. 

Pasifika Medical Association chief executive Debbie Sorensen congratulates Dr Williams.

“So well-deserved – Dr Williams work is incredible and his dedication and kindness shine through in all that he do. We are so pleased to hear of this very well deserved honour for his work in the health sector,” says Mrs Sorensen.

The award recognised individuals who are conscious of Pacific health and wellbeing despite the worrying statistics and nominations were based on those Pacific individuals who are out in the community and strived to improve the health and wellbeing of Pacific people. Dr Williams ticked all the boxes.

His commitment to the health and wellbeing of Pacific people play a part in creating a better community.

Dr Williams has more than 50 years’ services as a general practitioner and health advocate. He’s the author of the ground-breaking book Eczema ‘The Neglected Disease of Children’ launched earlier this year. He is currently the director of the Integrated Family Health Centre in Mt Wellington along with Dr Robert Woonton – both trained as doctors, and former Prime Ministers of the Cook Islands.

The Awards ceremony will be screened on air in a one hour Tagata Pasifika special on Saturday 5 December 2015 at 9am.

A huge congratulations to all other Award winners:

Pacific Community Leadership Award sponsored by Pasifika Futures
Vui Mark Gosche
Tupou Manapori

Pacific Enterprise sponsored by Pacific Business Trust
Agnes Loheni
Ulumatootua Ulu Aiono

Pacific Health and Wellbeing sponsored by Pacific Media Network
Dr Joe Williams
Buck Stowers

Pacific Education sponsored by MIT
Fiso John Fiso
Dr Teresia Teaiwa

Pacific Emerging Leadership sponsored by the Ministry of Pacific Island Affairs
Arizona Leger
Masiu Vainikolo